Tusla take over residential block of apartments owned by foreign investment firm

Thesearcher

Hello,

Firstly, this is non-political post and I'm only looking for planning enforcement / legal information. A colleague asked me can I look into this as I work in the property sector but I'm not quite sure where to start.

A neighbouring mid-terraced property of a colleague in Fairview was originally renovated by a developer from a single residential property to four apartments within. The developer rented it out but later booted out the occupants of each apartment so that a certain Luxemburg landlord could use the apartments for Airbnb lets. It was shut down as this apparently breached planning regulations which were put in place to free up apartments/houses and alleviate the housing crisis.

The original developer sold the property and now a supposed foreign investment company has bought the property and let the whole place out to Tusla for their use as an under 18 migration centre. There are quite a number of educators and migrants totalling 15 + persons living in the entire unit (with possibly more to follow).

There are antisocial issues (which I won't get into) that would relate to any property where there are that number of minors living under the one roof. However, it being a mid-terraced property in a residential street - on the surface, this would appear to be a dramatic change of use of a property containing four apartments and contrary to why the original planning permission was granted.

Does anyone know the planning law in relation to this or other options that might be available?

Thanks and all the best

T

The anti-social aspect is not one of planning, but complaints should be made to the Gardai and records kept.