Starting a financial advice business

Teetrees

I currently work in tech and am getting very tired of it. I'm on a very decent wage, have a family, house with a mortgage, and living very comfortably. However, I want to work at something that enjoy, and one of those things is financial advice.

Currently, my thoughts are as follows. Study part time and get my QFAs. While working, start with advising friends / colleagues / anyone willing to trust me to get some experience. Focus in on a niche and start establishing a business. Quit my job in tech once there is a stable enough revenue in the business.

Questions:
Am I mad?
What sort of salaries are financial advisor business owners taking in?
Any advice from those in the financial advice world as to what steps I should be considering?

Hi Teetrees, sorry I have no advice, but I am following this thread with huge interest and hoping that somebody with experience will answer your query ! As this is a route I am giving consideration to also. I'm not sure how old you are ? But I am in my late 40s and because of my age am hesitating.

I think studying for and obtaining the QFA is very doable in a reasonable time frame ( I work in a different branch of Financial /Insurance Services ) but, my personal worry would be gaining direct experience initially , how much of a salary could a person earn with the qualification but without the experience !

I would presume a person would need to have worked in the field prior to setting up alone ? But I stand to be corrected.

Hoping now someone will come along and help with your initial questions.