Setting up wedding dress shop

quinerty

Hi all
Just wondering if anyone out there would have any advice on setting up a wedding dress shop. There is a strong possibility I will be made redundant from my current job and I am looking into alternatives. I have always wanted to work for myself and I feel this business may be the perfect solution for me.
I am wondering about the costs of start-up. I understand there will be the obvious costs: Rent, Insurance, Stock, Utilities but would be grateful for any feedback on any additional costs I may be missing.
In relation to stock - is there a huge outlay for stock starting off or how does this work?
As I have said before i would be very thankful of any advice here are I am new to the retail industry.

Hi all
In relation to stock - is there a huge outlay for stock starting off or how does this work?

I think this will depend on how much stock you are thinking of starting with and if you can get credit from suppliers.

You might not be given credit since you are only just starting off. I would ring around and see what the conditions are. You could heve 30/60 days credit and even with that you'd have to make sure you had the money to pay then.

I would also say that setting up a business at this time is risky....but the local wedding shop in my area is doing very well. She also does all the communion/confirmation stuff as well, maybe something you can thinnk of doing as well.

Another option is to approach florists, hairdressers, beauticains....anything that can be related to weddings and see if you can advertise in their shops and in return you will do the same for them.

Good luck hope everything works out for you.

Thanks for the advice. Much appreciated. I would assume that as the wedding dress shop is the main route for suppliers to sell their dresses I would be able to purchase a sample selection reasonably but I may be wrong.
Great suggestions and thanks again.

Quinerty,