Return to Public Sector

Macinwieny

Hi

I worked in the public sector and left in 2006, as I relocated. I left on a Grade 4 LSI 1. I would have worked since 1990 in private practices but then in 1999 joined the public service, worked as a grade 3 for a year and then moved to grade 4 where I started on point 5 of the scale. I have returned now to the public sector but back in at a Grade 3 clerical officer and was placed on point 12 of the new scale. Does anyone know if this is correct as I would have had more years and points on scale from what I gather. It seems to be a more unusual situation as I went back a grade instead of up a grade. I just want to make sure I am not losing out as obviously this will affect pension contributions too.

Plus, if I was to change jobs again to another public sector job would I then be stuck on a lower point and if I was to move up a grade would I lose out and only get moved up a to the closest salary I’m on now rather than where I was when I was originally a grade 4 LSI 1. Any advice or what to do would be welcome. I did get a letter from original PS job to state my grade etc upon leaving but maybe I should ask them for a letter to state the equivalent in years/points worked? My new employer is basing my new pay on the closest point salary wise to what I left on back in 2006 (which was just under 40k). Thanks,

If you resigned from the public service in 2006 you are treated like a new entrant so the single scheme you’re in now. Previous service doesn’t count once you’ve been out of public service for more than 28 days.

It looks like you will get two pensions totally separate from each other:

Pension 1: based on seven years service pension of 7/80 of final salary from age 65 integrated with state pension.

Pension 2: Single scheme based on career average wages also integrated with state pension. Retirement age 67 but open to correction on this.