Renting and pets - landlord changed his mind

TheReflex

Hi,

I've been renting a house for 10 years. With the landlord's permission, I've had a dog (has since died) and now cats.

This month, the landlord apparently changed his mind and basically told us that either the cats go, or we all go.

There isn't any damage done to the house by the cats (if there was, I'd have paid the fix myself of course), but still he insists the cats are making "house lose value" and the only example he gave was "the smell".

I'm assuming he's within his rights to do so, as it's his house, but is there anything I can do to protect myself?

Thanks in advance.

Sounds strange. Do you think he wants you to go? I wouldn't say that he is within his rights, you are in the property 10 years and have had pets for 10 years, something has changed.

I can see no reason for it. Unless its to encourage to leave. I would be surprised if the LL can change the terms and conditions of the rental like that. But I think you should take proper advise from some one like threshold. But double check what they tell you with the law.

Sounds strange. Do you think he wants you to go? I wouldn't say that he is within his rights, you are in the property 10 years and have had pets for 10 years, something has changed.

I've asked what had prompted this, but didn't get a straight answer beyond "it's time to upgrade the house and I'm not doing it with cats".

How does your rent compare with tthbopen market?

Pretty low and I would have understood something less radical, like a rent increase to keep with market rates for example. It's however hard to compare as the house itself is about 50 years old, and last time it had an upgrade was 6 years ago.