Public sector/ state pension

phileasfogg

I know nothing about pensions and am finding it very difficult to get a simple answer to this presumably straight forward question. I work part time in the public sector. My pension upon retirement will be 10,000 euro. Will this be my entire entitlement? i.e would I be entitled to any state pension that a private sector employee gets?

It depends on the class of PRSI you're paying. If you're paying Class A (full rate PRSI), then you might qualify for a State Pension if you have enough contributions.

Civil & Public Service pensions for those paying full rate PRSI are integrated - this means that qualifying for a State Pension may reduce your Public Service Pension.
You should check with your pension/superannuation section whether your public sector pension will be reduced if you qualify for State Pension.

Thanks! Am paying class A PRSI alright and will hope to work for full 40 years. That's great that I might be entitled to something. I will check with pension people at work. Thanks

I am in a similar position but with retirement shortly and wonder if the effect on the integration of my company pension and a state contributory differs depending on where you work in the public sector. My experience with my own HR is that they have no idea how this works so where does one look for information. Dept of social welfare also tells me to "contact your own HR". So I go around in rings!

HR provides the standard public service ready reckoner results for my company pension (only 250 per month)but have still no idea how my state pension (150pw) will impact. Looks like it will wipe it out. can that be the case even though I paid into this pension for the last 15 years working part-time?

How can paying PRSI at class A and qualifying for a state pension reduce your Public Service Pension?? I can't understand this? I pay Class A PRSI and am in the public service.