Obtaining a sick note at employer's insistence

• Thread starter Unregistered
  • Start date
U

Unregistered

I have had a look at some links but I can't fathom this one out.

I work for a small company on a teleworking basis, calling in daily and meeting up monthly, I have been doing this for 4 years and it suits me as I don't need to bother about childminders etc.

In the 4 years I have been fortunate not to be too ill to work, so even when feeling slightly off I have carried on, albeit at a slower pace and taking more breaks or catching up when I felt better.

The last few days I have been very sick and told my employers yet they have continued to call/email me, while expressing sympathy but still asking me to "just do this for us" Normally I don't mind, the job is great and they have been good to me but I really have felt the need for a proper rest. However when I spoke to one of my bosses today I was basically told unless I have a sick note from my doctor they have no way of knowing if I am ill! (effectively expressing doubts over my sickness I feel) I have booked a doctor's appointment tomorrow but as I have never in my working life had to get a sick note I am not sure if I need to ask stating it is my employer's demanding it Will doctors give out a sick note on request? Is there a period of self-certification before he can sign me off?

There is nothing in my contract relating to sick leave or sick pay.

Thanks

With my employer, we need a certificate for any sickness of 3 days or more, which seems quite reasonable to me.

Off-topic, but are you saying that you manage to mind children & work simultaenously?

Original Poster - I think you are just being a little bit stubborn, go to the doctor and get a nice long note. I can see you stated that you need a rest, well dont we all but we still got to work also.

Taker your few days and cover it by a note, it will cost you a few quid, best of luck getting better

RainyDay said: