Nursing Degree - UK - College Recommendation

M

MarySmyth

Know a friend's son hoping to study nursing as mature student- seems he might have more chances in UK to enter degree programme- any opinions? Also any recommendation for colleges? Thanks

Has he got a degree already? If so I think there is a postgrad conversion course in Kings College in London. Either way this uni has a good reputation.
http://www.kcl.ac.uk/prospectus/undergraduate/programmes/alpha/MNO/keyword/nursing

He should also consider applying for some FETAC Level 5 courses in nursing studies here as a back up, he could also try using this to get into a nursing degree in Ireland the following year if he got 8 distinctions or again use it to boost an application to the UK.

Nursing UK- Northern Ireland

Is there any particular colleges that Irish students go to in UK for nursing?

I worked as a nurse in Kings College Hospt in Denmark Hill, South London I loved working there. Seemed like a really good place to do degree, great social scene too!

do trainee nurses have to pay tutition fees in the UK?

Fees

I think Irish/ EU students are entitled to normal grants that are available- if they are eligible.

Still looking for recommendations re. UK colleges please?

UK colleges

I am no expert in this area- but not sure if some UK colleges actually visit Ireland and actively recruit students- not sure if any were at the Choices 2011 exhibition over the weekend

DkIT have a nursing degree, general, midwifery and intellectual disability. They welcome mature students on to their courses, application is via CAO and there is an interview for potential mature students. There may be other colleges countrywide who also offer these degrees.

Betsy