NUI Senate elections - 30 candidates for 3 positions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brendan Burgess

Founder
This must be one of the most highly contested elections. As an NUI graduate, I am so lucky in the wide selection of talent on offer. It will be very hard to choose between such luminaries as
  • Jerry Beades
  • David Begg
  • Rory Hearne
  • Carol Hunt
  • Rónán Mullen
You can see the full cast at http://www.nui.ie/news/2016/SE2016_candidates.asp
I voted against the Senate in the referendum and am inclined not to vote in the election. On the other hand, there are many candidates there whom I don't want to see being given a platform.

Brendan

I always find it funny that anti-establishment figures such as David Norris and Ivana Bacik use the Senate, an undemocratic throwback to Imperialist privilege, to gain a voice and profile.
I have great respect for David Norris, though I don't particularly like him. I can't stand Ivana Bacik and her bigoted angry views.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/educ...have-a-vote-in-the-seanad-elections-1.2539966

Are any of them in favour of extending ... "the franchise to all graduates for the purpose of electing members to the university panels of Seanad Éireann was passed by referendum by the people in July 1979. Surprisingly, the people’s will has never been enacted into legislation in the intervening 37 years."
Why not make it democratic by treating all citizens of the country equally rather than having our very own mini-me version of the House of Lords?

In fairness not every candidate for the NUI panel is as ... interesting... as Mr. Beades. It is a huge field though!

Some have explicitly put Seanad reform on their manifestos, though none (so far that I have noticed) have made specific reference to the 1979 referendum. A few have included opening the Seanad vote to all. One has specifically mentioned inclusion of emigrants.