My Indo article: Any help for mortgage holders should be for those who really need it.

My understanding is most Vulture Funds are in turn owned by vast Private asset or Pension funds with little requirement to borrow to buy up Mortgage Portfolios but I am no expert.

I get a sense some are actually looking to exit the Irish Market having realized they are stuck for the long Haul , I am aware some have sold mortgages on to approved housing bodies and are actively encouraging customers to look at the Mortgage to rent scheme.

That recent Judgement involving Pepper Finance has certainly focused the minds of some Vulture Funds, a year ago none would either entertain the notion of extending a Mortgage or lowering interest rates.
Not about needing to borrow. But choosing to use leverage, can increase their returns in the equity they deploy.

"Having realised"? Surely, an entity buying a portfolio of mortgages knows, a priori, that it's a long term venture? I doubt that this dawned on them slowly after the fact...
Due Diligence doesn't seem to have applied in many cases. I use the word realise lightly.

I agree that any form of relief will just give the vulture funds further scope to push up rates and will just result in a transfer of wealth from the State to VFs.

Like them or not the reality is the VFs provided an important role in tidying up the banks balance sheet. They moved things off banks balance sheet much faster than if banks had to work through the courts.

Do we still need them? If we had another crises leading to high arrears/defaults are there systems in place to streamline the repossession process? I'm open to correct but I think the answer is no.

So if we might need them again we need to avoid measures that would undermine their business model. That's before you even consider the legalities or constitutionality of forcing them to lower rates.