Mortgage protection - mental health questions

Kerry78@

Hi.

I am a complete newbie to the whole mortgage stuff, and already in my mid 40ies.. so time is ticking for me and my partner to apply for a mortgage in the coming months.

I just figured that for a mortgage, we'll need life insurance, and for that there'll be some questions asked obviously.. so I've a history of an eating disorder (non other specified) and self harm for both I've been inpatient in a psych unit in around 2007. I was also on different medications at the time.

That spell lasted a few month I guess, but I have since made a full recovery and went on to become a nurse (which I still am). At the time (2009), I got a handwritten letter by my psychiatrist that I'm in remission and fit to start the nursing degree course (they required that at the start of the course). So I have that.. and no further mental health issues since then.

I also already have a life insurance policy, which I took out a good few years ago, but it's only to secure my son financially should I die, and it cannot be converted into mortgage protection.

What do you guys think..?? Will it be very difficult to get life insurance for a mortgage? Very worried re this as we're under pressure to get on the ladder asap.. thank you..

Ask for hard copy application forms from a couple of mortgage protection insurance providers and see what questions they ask. Or ask for them in your nearest brokers

I don't know whether it will be a problem or not, there is surely going to be a question on the forms that this will be relevant for but start in time looking for the cover as any queries which are likely to need doc reports etc can cause delays. Not everyone can answer No to everything on the form so reports to docs etc are commonplace enough but slow up things!