Mortgage Approval - work in construction

tomwal

Hello,

I'm looking for advice regarding getting mortgage approval in the future. I work in construction, have been in employment for the last 6 months with the same employer and am now permanent. However I was unemployed on and off previous to this for a couple of years.

Re. earnings,my P60 for last year or this year does not look good. I'm hoping to buy next year and have a large deposit of €250,000 from an inheritance and am currently saving €800 a month. However I am worried about whether the fact I'm in construction and my past unemployment will affect my application.

Any advice regarding a future mortgage application would be appreciated.

Last edited:
If you have a deposit of €250k what are you hoping to borrow?

You must be planning to build/buy on millionaire's row!

If you have a deposit of €250k what are you hoping to borrow?
You must be planning to build/buy on millionaire's row!

That's a rather glib remark :rolleyes: OP could easily be looking to borrow E100K to buy a normal house, nowhere near "millionaires row".

@tomwal A good run of 6 months savings on top of rent would be the starting point. 6 month+ in same employment is also a big plus. Have you worked out the monthly payment on what you want to borrow vs what you are currently paying in rent and savings? This is basically what bank will assess - your ability to repay E1000 (or whatever) per month.

Ha, yeah I wish!Hoping to borrow €100-150.

Living in Dublin, not many 3 bedroom properties at 250 at the moment-in a years time may not be any at 350 either o_O

That's a rather glib remark :rolleyes: OP could easily be looking to borrow E100K to buy a normal house, nowhere near "millionaires row".