Ireland vs Iceland recovery

pAnTs

just wondering does anyone now we're a few years down the line have any idea of who recovered better from the crash Ireland or Iceland? I remember there was a lot of controversy at the time over which approach was better. The Irish "Banks are too big to fail" vs the Icelandic "Banks are too big to bail" approach? I've no knowledge on these matters but am very curious...

I was in Iceland last year, I'm very happy we didn't follow their lead.

Iceland's GDP per capita has fallen from a peak of $69K to $47K today
Ireland's GDP per capita has fallen from $61K to $51K

So we seem to have fared better but that might be just Leprechaun economics:p

I think that the reason this excellent question has not received much press coverage is because the answer is that Iceland and Ireland have achieved broadly similar results from very different policies.

I think the best measure to look at is GDP at purchasing power parity.

Iceland's peak to trough decline was 6.6% from 2008 to 2010. Followed by a subsequent recovery to 112% of the previous peak by 2015.

Ireland's peak to trough decline was 10.4% from 2007 to 2009. Followed by a subsequent recovery to 117% of the previous peak by 2015.

While we suffered more initially, I think we have laid a better base for future development of the economy, we may need it to face brexit.

All figures from the World Bank. http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GDP.PCAP.PP.CD?locations=IS

Quite a difference in [broken link removed] [broken link removed].

That's an excellent question OP and you would have to say, based on the figures provided above it certainly seems like our course of action was the better one long term. You still hear the arguments on both sides about whether we were right or wrong but certainly the facts provided here seem to point towards our choices being the better path to have gone down.

Quite a difference in [broken link removed] [broken link removed].