Invoicing Vat Exempt Company

A99

Hi;

I need to invoice a vat exempt company I am doing consulting for & I am unsure how to deal with vat on the invoice. My agreed rate is ex vat & I know I cant charge vat but on my standard invoice do I show vat a 0% rate, or leave vat out or write exempt, or must I attach their vat exempt cert to my invoices at year end ? or is it as simple as, for example ;

Prof. Fee 100 Euro
Vat @ 0% = 0 Euro
Total = 100 Euro

This is my first time dealing with a vat exempt company.

Thanks in advance.

You need documentation from them to show why they are VAT emempt. You have to show zero vat rate on invoice and keep a copy of their VAT emempt form with it. The doc they will have to give you a copy of is from the tax office (Cant remember the title of it). They must have this if they are an Irish company that are VAT exempt. If they are from another EU country you need their VAT number from that country which can be verified.

Evening,

It's called a Vat 13B form.

You need a copy of theirs for your records should you ever be audited, and you should note their auth number on your invoice.

If you are doing on-going work for them you should keep an eye on the expiration date as they are only granted for set periods eg a year, and need to be renewed with revenue.

http://www.tcd.ie/Treasurers_Office/acreceivable/acr_othertaxissues.php

Above link can probably explain this better than I can.

HTH.

If I do work for a company based up north do I need a copy of their Vat certificate?

We are a "vat exempt"M.N. And all our suppliers ask and get a copy of our vat cert for their files. (to show in case of a vat audit) On your invoice you just show the rate as zero, otherwise the invoice is like any other.

Even if a business is vat exempt you still have to charge them vat as far as i know.

Even if a business is vat exempt you still have to charge them vat as far as i know.

There may be some misunderstanding in the thread between