Laya Health insurance for 2 year old laya

Familyof3

we are a family of 3 (2 adults and a 2 year old) and our policy is up for renewal on 1st February. We are currently with laya essential family connect. €175 per month. I have been in contact with cornmarket who suggested "better active plan" with glo. It will cost €166 per month as I will get 5% discount. But laya tell me this is a downgrade in cover :(

I have been on the HIA website and looked up laya simply connect which looks great. For all three of us it would be €200 per month. My OH seems to think we should just stay on family connect. We never go to the doctor etc. but I was thinking maybe of putting 2 year old on "simply connect" as it has great day to day cover and private in public hospital. I find laya isn't great at discussing these options with me. They said I need to know the names of the corporate policies.

Any help would be appreciated. I am a teacher and got quoted €134 for child on teachers select vhi. Can I insure a child on vhi and stay with laya for adults? Or does 1 adult have to go to vhi if child goes to vhi?
I would like to pay in or around the same per month as I am with essential connect family.

Thanks for reading.

Last edited:
we are a family of 3 (2 adults and a 2 year old) and our policy is up for renewal on 1st February. We are currently with laya essential family connect. €175 per month. I have been in contact with cornmarket who suggested "better active plan" with glo. It will cost €166 per month as I will get 5% discount. But laya tell me this is a downgrade in cover :(