Have GP card. I think I need to change GP.

SoylentGreen

I got a GP card last year and nominated the practice I have been attending since the 1970's.

I now realise that the doctor that I have been attending for many years should have been more on top of things than he has been.

For example. I had shingles a few years back but didn't diagnose them. It was my wife who suggested I had shingles and I asked him. Then he woke up.

He has messed up my blood tests twice now in recent years.

He prescribed an ointment for dermatitis in my ear and when I went to get the prescription renewed he said that you can't put that stuff in your ear.

Lots of small things.

Two weeks ago both myself and my wife had our bloods taken. Last Monday her doctor rang her at 8.30 am. with her results. Five days later and nothing from my doctor yet.

Is it easy to change doctors when you have a GP card? Can I have my medical records for the past 50 years transferred to my new doctor?

Not easy where I live. Shortage of GPs. Waiting lists for several surgeries. Can be hard to get appointments. If you are worried about your blood results ring and ask for a call back from the practice nurse. Although getting through to a secretary can be difficult enough at times.

If you are worried about your blood results ring and ask for a call back from the practice nurse
I am not sure how long blood test results take to get back to doctor. Is it normal to wait for the practice to ring you or is it normal to ring the practice after a period of time?

I am not sure how long blood test results take to get back to doctor. Is it normal to wait for the practice to ring you or is it normal to ring the practice after a period of time?

It can depend on how busy the lab is that the samples go to for testing. It can also depend on the particular sample but it is usually the unusual bloods that take longer for the lab to come back with the result.