Getting paid business income into a student account – problem for Revenue?

h20

I currently get paid into my student account (I was a student two years ago and plan to do another university course this autumn if I get accepted, so I haven’t bothered letting the bank know about my change of status, as it’s not really worth the bother).

I receive my non-business income into another account, so I keep the personal and business sides separate. Will it pose a problem to the revenue that my clients have been transferring my payments into my student account and not a business account? Does the revenue actually need to see my bank statements at all? Is this something that only happens when one gets audited?

why should the revenue care about you having a student account ?
its not their job to interfere in your relationship with your bank . they only care that you are paying your taxes

why should the revenue care about you having a student account ?
its not their job to interfere in your relationship with your bank . they only care that you are paying your taxes

Yes, okay, but if they have to do an audit, surely they will ask to look at bank statements. But perhaps the self-employed don't get audited that often.

But the Revenue don't care what the bank account is called. Money lodged into a student account is no different from money lodged into a business account.

But the Revenue don't care what the bank account is called. Money lodged into a student account is no different from money lodged into a business account.

Really? So in Ireland one can be a student and a business owner at the same time. What about the consequences for social security payments? Which scheme would I fall under in that case?

Really? So in Ireland one can be a student and a business owner at the same time. What about the consequences for social security payments? Which scheme would I fall under in that case?