Gas -vs- Electric cookers.

M

miki

electric cooker or gas cooker?

What do you recommend and why?

Depends on whether you are getting an all-in-one unit or seperate oven/hob. According to people who know their stuff on cooking (not me), you should always get a gas hob, because of instant heat and all that malarky. However, electric ovens seem more efficient. Personally speaking, I have electric oven and gas hob and it all works very well..

If you have the option of both have heard people say one of each is keeping all options open i.e. possibly gas hob (if available) and electric oven or vice versa.

Re: A mixture of both

Same here. I have a gas hob and an electric oven.

Marion :hat

Gas or electric?

Gas hob, definitely. I am a serious cook and there is no comparison. Gas is infinitely more controllable and less wasteful. IMO you cannot do a decent stir fry on an electric hob.

I am less opinionated about ovens. Mine is electric, and I am happy with it. There is more moisture in a gas oven, which may suit some styles of cooking.
cheers,
Diziet

boardgas

sorry to bring this slightly off topic...we recently got out second boardgas bill, we have an electric oven and a gas cooker btw.

In the second bill there is an item "supply charge" of about 23 euro, on top of the actual gas consumption which was around 50 euro. We were a bit shocked as we though Gas would be cheaper for heating and all that.

We called board gas and they said we were put on the most expensive option and that they were going to send a leaftlet to explain the available options and that to change from the current one we would need to get a reading fomr the meter...does this sound correct? is it normal for board gas to slap people on the most expensive bracket and wait to see if the coped on? also is this supply charge going to be there every bill or is it a one off? on the phone they didn't say.

also, gas cooker, no doubt, proper.

Re: boardgas

Indeed Bord Gais do have a range of tariffs