Debt Collection Saga

mickeyg

I owe approx. €8500 on an old Credit Card debt to AIB. I was paying off at the rate of €140 per month. At Xmas I came into some money and I offered to settle for a once-off payment of €2500. This was rejected. Meanwhile I had stopped paying the monthly amount.
I now have received a letter from a very prominent firm of solicitors in Dublin saying they have received Judgment against me in the District Court for the amount and threatening Sheriff, publication in Gazettes etc.
Firstly I have no knowledge of having received paperwork regarding Judgment but is there a way I can find out if this is for real? I tried searching the Court.ie website but it does not appear to be
working.
By the way I also got a Notice of Intention to Proceed by way of Service in December also.
Would appreciate advice!

The notice of intention to proceed suggests that you previously received proceedings which were served over a year ago hence the receipt of the notice of intention to proceed. The notice of intention to proceed would state that the action will proceed after 1 month has expired. Therefore, after the time expired they were then in a position to obtain judgment in default of appearance in the court office without any need to go to court as the action was obviously undefended, you should ask for a copy of the judgment but I believe that it may be genuine. I would suggest you contact them and offer a payment arrangement as it is unlikely that they would accept anything less than 80% in full and final settlement at this time especially without completion of an income and expenditure statement by you. Otherwise, it is in there interest to enforce the judgment as if it is the firm I am thinking about they get paid commission for monies recovered.