Copyright of Training Materials?

coolaboola

I'm a sole trader and was hired recently to design, develop and deliver a technical training course. The price I quoted was accepted and I have designed and developed the course and have started delivering it.

Recently (since the course started) I have been asked to hand over the materials for the course as the commissioning company feel they should have ownership of these if they have paid for their design. I see where they are coming from. However, copyright or ownership did not form part of our negotiations. If they had made it clear that they wanted exclusive ownership of the materials at the outset I would have priced accordingly (as it is, I have provided a competitive price and offered to deliver subsequent courses at a heavily discounted rate).

My understanding is that, as I am not an employee of the commissioning company, I retain copyright of the material by default. My inclination is to hand over the training materials to the commissioning company with a statement that I retain copyright but that they have the right to reuse these materials. I am further inclined to make this right contingent on re-employing me (even at the agreed heavily discounted rate) to deliver the material (they may wish to do so anyway as they don't have the technical expertise in-house).

Is this a correct stance? I would like to be able to reuse the materials I have developed should I choose to do so, so I want to retain copyright. As I mentioned above, had copyright been required I would have priced my services differently.

If I should or legally must hand over the material, how much would I have to amend it to be able to reuse it legitimately?

That's the standard approach we see with training content we receive from external vendors. Unless specifically requested, copyright isn't handed over and some vendors are more particular than others when it comes to the restrictions they place on the use of materials provided.