Complete novice-first time buyer-viewing house

Smokeygirl

To many this may seem very silly but i would appreciate advice.:eek:
I also apologise in advance if this is already covered.
i have been renting for several years and i am about to view houses, obviously as a first time buyer.
Apart from the obvious, including local amenities,I would appreciate some tips on what to ask and more importantly what not to ask?

What is a builders finish? In this case, do you need to do a snag list?
Can i ask about possible planning permission with the house for building a garage etc?

Is there a high turnover in houses in co. galway (northside) at the moment? two houses i have enquired about were on the market for a week and already sale agreed.

Hi Smokeygirl,

A snaglist is compiled when you are buying a newly built property (usually this is an appartment or a new estate of houses). The snag list then goes back to the builders with the series of fixes required.

From your posting this doesnt sound like it applies in your case, it sounds like you are looking at 2nd hand properties?

Technically you can ask the estate agent anything really, regarding building garges etc. but your surveyor (and you should choose a good one) is really the person that will give you the correct answers regarding the state of the house, future work etc. Make sure you understand if its gas/electricity/central heating, state of plumbing, last rewiring etc.

Read the FAQ here for info on FTB, stamp duty etc.

good luck
cas

Most of the banks & building societies have booklets or info on their websites around what to look for and things to think about when preparing your checklist, e.g.
[broken link removed]

In terms of what questions to ask or not ask, I would say ask what every you want, despite how uncomfortable you may be made feel. You are the customer!