Can I get a PS pension and an OACP

Torregolf

I have been working in PS since 1988. I also have some PRSI contributions that are reckonable for the OACP. I am a Co Director but do not receive any salary from the Company. My Q is should I take a salary from the Company and what is the minimum I would need to receive in order to pay a PRSI contribution which would count towards the OACP. I am aware that I will also have to pay PAYE at top rate and USC so I don't know if it would be worth it. I am 54

You will have 52 PRSI conts each year from the PS.

So with other employment, you are suggesting that it might be possible to have extra PRSI conts, class A.

The question is - will the system allow you to have more than 52 pa?

I think that if you are non A class you can't actually pay Class S or A while paying a CS rate.

If you are class A in CS then it does not matter.

Torregolf.
1. You have 27years since 1988@52 = 1404 contributions from private sector ,I presume you are still working there ,whilst having a directorship? If so you are still making OACP contributions.
Another 13 years PS contributions will leave you @ max OACP .

2. I think (not 100% sure) that if you are NOT paying normal PS contributions from your work you need to pay 500 per year to ensure you are (stamped) for pension.

3. I don,t think taking salary from Company will therefore impact on OACP.

Protocol
Am nearly sure no-one can have over 52 per year.

Torregolf.
1. You have 27years since 1988@52 = 1404 contributions from private sector ,I presume you are still working there ,whilst having a directorship? If so you are still making OACP contributions.
Another 13 years PS contributions will leave you @ max OACP .

2. I think (not 100% sure) that if you are NOT paying normal PS contributions from your work you need to pay 500 per year to ensure you are (stamped) for pension.

3. I don,t think taking salary from Company will therefore impact on OACP.

Protocol