Bank accepting interest only, outside loan agreement

X

xttt

I've been paying interest only on a property loan for a couple of years now as I can't afford full or partial principal repayments. This agreement has been revisited several times on a 4-5month review basis & each time my bank has increased the interest only rate based on what they call a change in borrowing from markets...or something. Anyway, to avoid hassle I have agreed time upon time to the reviewed upward rates just to keep them off my back. I got a call for a meeting next week which will result in probably another stab at trying to squeeze some principal repayent out of me. I had my last review in January during which I signed a form/contract agreeing to €700 interest only until April 2012, this date came & went with no re-call for a review & the bank have continued to accept...take!...€700 from my account each month. I remember from previously threads that this may well form a contract by virtue of the fact that they have been willing to accept this payment on an ongoing basis outside the terms of the latest contract.
I know I'm easy prey once seated opposite the man with the shirt & tie telling me the "computer says no" until I cave in & agree to overstretch my household budget to keep them happy.
I would like to know your thoughts on this as I am not exactly flush, although thank God things have improved, and it would be more managable to stay on the €700 a month until we see a bit more light at the end of the tunnel.

I presume that this is not for your home? The bank is not allowed to raise the interest rates for home loans?

What happens if you don't agree? You will go into arrears. Does that matter? Is your credit record clean at the moment? If it's not, you might consider going into arrears.

You should not sign any agreement without taking it away and reviewing it.

How much is the loan for? What is it secured on? Is it time to consider selling the property?