Advice needed re negative equity mortgage with arrears

stayorgo

Hi All,

Would really love some advice as we really seem to be up the creek without a paddle. I know very little about these matters and my husband is as bad. I will give all the details as I don't want to leave anything out that may be needed.

Bought house in 2006 when we were 24 and I was a college student and my husband was a plasterer. We all know how the building trade went so once I was finished college I began earning and took up the re-payments and have roughly managed €700- €800 per month (give or take) since then so arrears have built up. We have had more interest only periods than I can count. My husband is now back in full time work and the bank are not happy with our earnings now and say that the mortgage is unsustainable so our options are voluntary sale, voluntary surrender or trade down mortgage. We have been working with step change debt charity. My brother has offered to help us with our mortgage for a period and I have advised the bank of this. My contact in the arrears support unit has said she will take 6 months of full mortgage repayments (€1322 per month) and after 6 months she will consider capitalizing the arrears which would give us a new repayment figure of €1460. She has said that this is a verbal agreement and there will be nothing in writing until they have 6 months of repayments to look at. She also advised that we would still be getting letters in the interim as there is nothing in writing. Just today I have received a solicitors letter. These solicitors have issued us a letter that we have 7 days to vacate property and they are repossessing. I have spoken to step change and they say it is strange. I have left messages for my BOI contact to phone me. We have some options which I will outline:

Option 1 : continue living in the house and taking money from my brother monthly to top up the mortgage - even I know this would be thick!