Accountant overcharging?

This would be my third set of accounts. The first too had to be audited as I missed the return date in Year one. They charged me 3500 the first year and 3200 the second year including vat.

I am an accountant. To wind up a company without having to do accounts we would charge €600 plus the fees (advertisement €190 odd +, CRO fees). To do any set of accounts we would charge a minimum of €600. The fees charged by the accountant does not seem to be hugely off the mark. Dont even think about doing it yourself, if as you say you are not good at paperwork.
The €3,000 PA charge also appears to be reasonable. To do any audit there is roughly €1,800 worth of work. Much of this work is easy but it has to be done according to government and institute rules. The client gets no value from this and mostly involves filling in reams of useless reports. Dont blame me blame the government. The effect of this is that if you are one day late with your Annual Return this will cost you €103 fine and €3,600 extra audit fees. A ridiculous penalty.
Why were you late? Did the accountant get the paperwork on time? Was there missing information? Did you heed the CRO and the accountants warnings.
Should you have formed a limited company? Probably not. Some (not necessarily your own advisors) accountants are naughty when it comes to advice in respect of this. I would estimated that you would need a profit of about €80,000 plus before a company should be considered. Each case, however is different.