Key Post: Used cars at a bargain?

S

SharpBlade

Has anybody ever bought a car from Merlin Car Auctions (www.merlincarauctions.ie)? Can you get good deals? I suppose you can get vehicles at a discount of the going rate. I have a tight budget and I wonder if it is worth travelling to county Meath.

Re: Merlin Car Auctions / used cars at a bargain?

I have no experience of auctions here, but in New Zealand they were pretty common place. I was there checking out likely prices for selling my car, but I did note that there was a mix of dealers and public.

It seemed that the dealers (obviously) knew exactly which cars they were after, so that if you were up against a dealer they would have the effect of bidding the price up a good bit, thus knocking out the bargain aspect. If the dealers weren't interested then it seemed to indicate that the car wasn't in any sort of good condition - so you could get a cheap car, but whether it was a bargain or not was debatable.

I'm not sure if the auctions here have the same dealer/public profile.

z

Good place to buy but not to sell!
If you know your cars, you will pick up a very cheap car!
Make sure if you don't, to bring somebody who knows (ideally a mechanic).
Go to the auction and look around see the dealers, watch what they do.
Go early to check out the cars, pick one or two, decide your limit and stick to it.
If you stick to these rules you should get a cheap car.
Best auctions are the Lease/company cars.
All would be serviced and should have no dodgy history attached.

Auctions

BEWARE!

The trade only sell their seconds at the auction. However, there are some bargains to be had!

I advise going a few times before making a purchase.

Also sit at the back so you can see who is bidding. There is usually an invisible man at the back bidding against you - not!

Re: Auctions

I think I am going to stick with dealers and Buy And Sell as auctions seem too risky a business :b
Thanks all for your input.