Go Back   Askaboutmoney.com > Don't Askaboutmoney > Home energy

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-10-2006, 04:05 PM
Mahons Mahons is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Location: Dublin
Posts: 163
Default Gas Boiler has no pressure

Hi,

Overnight our boiler has lost all pressure therefore not firing. We do have a supply in to the house as the hob is lighting ok. I bled the system last night as it's the first time we've turned on the system since last spring. Could that have anyhting to do with it.

Regards,

Mahons
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:00 PM
BillK BillK is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

Do you mean there is no water pressure? If you have a combination boiler the water pressure should, ideally be about 1 bar for the boiler to work effectively. If this is the case then you need to top up the system. If you don't know how to do this then you need to get the boiler looked at by a professional; if the lack of pressure is on the gas side, then you need to get the boiler looked at by a professional.

It is no job for an amateur as mistakes on your part could be lethal!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2006, 08:38 PM
nai nai is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 651
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

if it's a new house you probably have a valve for re-pressuring the system from the mains just under the boiler with - prob just has a screw to turn (not handle) just turn it and watch the pressure guage climb until about 1.5 bar (do this when cold!)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:30 AM
Mahons Mahons is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Location: Dublin
Posts: 163
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

From what your saying BillK it sounds like the water level is low, what could have caused this over night

Not really sure how to refilll it so best to get someone int to look at it. Thanks for your help

Mahons
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2006, 12:52 PM
mich
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

i had a similar problem last year. it was due to a blown circuit board. Hope thats not the answer as it was pricey to fix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:05 PM
Mahons Mahons is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Location: Dublin
Posts: 163
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

hopefully not, the system is only 10 months old

Mahons
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:27 PM
Mahons Mahons is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Location: Dublin
Posts: 163
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

nai you're a genius, eventually found the valve in the hotpress and straight away the pressure went up and the boiler kicked in.

The wife says thanks!

Any idea why the pressure would disappear like that...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2006, 03:10 PM
dillons dillons is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 116
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

Used to happen to me in my last place during the winter. Had Bord Gais engineer out & he said it was just one of those things that can happen in cold weather with freezing... I never really believed it but learnt how to fix it.

I've since moved & had to bleed the rads... that caused a drop in pressure to zero so I had to turn the tap in the hotpress until it rose to 1.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-10-2006, 03:16 PM
fobs fobs is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Location: The Rebel Count
Posts: 616
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

I have the exact same problem so going to try out your solution this evening!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2006, 09:47 AM
col col is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 120
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

I had the same problem last year and I had to top up several times before the pressure stableized at 1.5 bar. This year I only had to top it once after the summer shutdown.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-10-2006, 10:30 AM
3ps 3ps is offline
Registered User
 
Posts: 32
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

I have the same and always suspected it was due to a small leak.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-10-2006, 11:12 AM
Carpenter Carpenter is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 2,631
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

I've always been puzzled myself about the pressure drop and inquiries with a heating installer yielded nothing more than "it's just one of those things". I imagine some water is lost from a system over time through evaporation and some of the plastics used in plumbing installations are not 100% vapour proof, leading to losses over time. Every joint, union and valve is a potential exit point for minute quantities of water also, especially through less than effective gland seals and the like. I think it's normal to expect to have to top up a system once or twice in a year, especially after a system has been shut down for some time.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-10-2006, 10:53 AM
dillons dillons is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 116
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

I agree carpenter but my experience last year in the apt I then owned was around 3 times a week during any cold spells!!
the Bord Gais appointed service engineer couldn't find anything wrong or any leaks & put it down to cold weather & 'one of those things'!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-10-2006, 11:39 AM
fobs fobs is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Location: The Rebel Count
Posts: 616
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

Quote:
if it's a new house you probably have a valve for re-pressuring the system from the mains just under the boiler with - prob just has a screw to turn (not handle) just turn it and watch the pressure guage climb until about 1.5 bar (do this when cold!)
Worked a treat!

Our boiler was working agian last night after letting more water into the system. It was most likely due to bleeding all the radiators a few evenigs before but worked a treat so thanks for advice.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25-01-2007, 10:12 AM
Holy Well Holy Well is offline
Registered User
 
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

I turned the valve on my Boiler last night, and it went from 0.2 to 1.5, but within about 2 hours it went back down to 1.

It remained at 1 overnight.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 25-01-2007, 10:20 AM
Welfarite Welfarite is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Location: Very North of D
Posts: 3,057
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

From a previous post above, 1 bar sounds about right.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25-01-2007, 05:16 PM
marty004 marty004 is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 51
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

Hi,
Just noticing this post. Our boiler has a label on it saying that normal pressure should be between 1 and 2.
It also says that if below 0.3 you should contact someone.
Ours constantly remains at 0.4 ->0.5 and has NEVER been at normal pressure since we moved into the new house (2 years ago). We only noticed this when it started making strange squeeling noises and having problems with our water pressure so we immediately got someone out to look at it.
We were told it was fine.
It doesn't seem fine to me when you hear the noise and you're having a shower and the water stops coming out.
Is the boiler guy correct in saying it is ok and if so why if the pressure isn't in the normal range? Or should I get someone else out to fix the pressure?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-02-2007, 11:08 PM
slan98
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

Hi

Having same problem in new apt with boiler, pressure is at 0, can anyone let me know exactly where this valve is or what it looks like....ta!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-02-2007, 10:16 AM
gianni gianni is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 538
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

Our valve is in the hot press on one of the pipes leading into the water tank. It is a small black 'tap' that looks more like a switch than a tap. It doesn't turn in a circle but rather 90 degrees to open and 90 degrees to close. Dunno if our setup is common or not so I'd advise caution before fiddling with taps/valves in your hotpress!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-02-2007, 10:38 AM
pat127 pat127 is offline
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 385
Default Re: Gas Boiler has no pressure

Does anyone know what a 'semi-sealed' system is? That's what I was told I have since I switched to gas.The tap in the hot-press is permanently open and the pressure remains steady at 1 bar. I've had absolutely no problems except to bleed the system - the first rad in particular - every few months.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:11 PM.