Old Key post: engagement rings

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JJones

Hi,

I am buying an engagement ring soon. I am by no means an expert in field of Jewelry and was wondering if anyone knows where I could go for some reasonable service. You could sell me a ring from a Halloween brack and I would'nt know the difference.

Thanks

Engagement Ring

I got my wife's engagement ring in Appleby jewellers in Johnson's Court (the lane that connects Grafton St to the Powerscourt Townhouse Centre in Dublin). They have a good selection and have charts that explain the various features and classes of diamonds (grades of clarity, cut etc.). They are also good at service. Go to www.appleby.ie and follow the links for diamond rings and you will get to a guide on "How to buy a diamond". Read this so that, when you do go somewhere to buy, you will look like you know what you are talking about. That website also has a selection of the rings they stock. They also used to have discount schemes for various companies (like the main banks) - I got about 20% off the price of the ring. Regardless, even if you do not belong to such a company ASK THEM FOR A DISCOUNT - they should give you at least 10% off! Insist on it! Good luck, and I hope she says 'yes'!

Edited by ClubMan to fix link.

Engagement ring

"You could sell me a ring from a Halloween brack and I would'nt know the difference"

Am I to take it from this comment that you are going to buy the ring and present it to herself on bended knee without she first having the opportunity to select it? Brave man. Wish I had your spine.

in hindsight

MOB that was the general idea. Considering she is a woman of expensive tastes bringing her along could be likened to leaving Charlie haughey in charge of the nations finances. I suppose it might be best to let her pick it, at least then I would actually know if she indeed wants the thing in the first place

in hindsight