Free anti-virus

I have read many times that avast is the thing to get and even our IT guy at work recommended it, but I have no personal experiences, as using Mc Afee.

I use Avast....

Seems to be okay.... It detected a virus threat, and I just mopped it up with Housecall (on the good advice of a member of AAM)....

An IT Architect suggested Avast to me.....

I would echo 's recommendation on Avast. Using it for a couple of months now. Happy it is doing what it is supposed to. Works well with MS-Outlook 2003, in addition to the usual web stuff.
I replaced AVG with Avast as I found the former very resource heavy on my (almost 7 year desktop) PC. No such problems with Avast. Works away in the background, automatically updating it's virus database.
Note I also use 'SuperAntiSpyware' (freeware) in combination with Avast to handle spy/malware.

Never had a problem with Avast myself over the years, but be careful where you download a programme from. This is a reputable site and has most or all of the anti virus programmes mentioned above and loads of other freebie stuff as well. cnet download.com

Just do a search for the one you fancy.:)

Hi Jess. I just want to add that AVG Free is very good. I used it for a few years and didn't have a problem but, if like me, you have data, etc., stored on your computer that you couldn't afford to lose in the event of a virus attack, you might want to consider paying for antivirus. I don't think any free versions of antivirus can deal with serious threats to your computer.

I was using AVG subscription version - when my sub ran out i downloaded Avast to see if it was any good.

It detected problems with my laptop that AVG did not and that was the subscription version.

Definitely Avast over AVG.

Another +1 on Avast.

Used AVG free for a few years but found that increasingly it was a drain on my PC.

No such problems with Avast for the last 6 months or so. Pretty quick scans too.