Landlord wants me to pay him, although a Receiver has been appointed!

boardmember

Hi,

Just wondering what to do in this situation, I have been renting for the past three years and pay just over 1300 a month for a two bed muse in D6. The landlord has had trouble with his business which has a result has bankrupt him.

Recently the landlord has told me that market rates for the house are 1800+ and he needed to up the rental payment. He wants me to pay an extra 250, which I think is a bit excessive, however I said I would consider. He is now telling me that this increase has to be paid in cash or to another bank account. I don't agree with this and have asked for it in writing.... I asked why it could not be paid with the existing standing order, and he said it was going direct to the bank who have taken all his assets.

Not sure what to do here...

Formula 1 fast!
If he is bankrupt as you say, then he seems to be trying to divert funds from the Official Assignee.

Have you independent verification that he is bust?

Is it a different bank?

I am 100% certain, I got a letter from the receiver last year to say they were taking over rent and it was to be paid to them.

Now he is asking me to pay 250 extra in cash or to a separate bank account. I don't like this as I will want to demonstrate consistent rent payment when I apply for a mortgage.. Any advice on this one?

I am 100% certain, I got a letter from the receiver last year to say they were taking over rent and it was to be paid to them.

Now he is asking me to pay 250 extra in cash or to a separate bank account. I don't like this as I will want to demonstrate consistent rent payment when I apply for a mortgage.. Any advice on this one?

In that case it is very simple, show him the letter from the receiver and tell him that until you receive further instructions from the receiver that is how it is going to be. But if he likes, you'll check with the receiver and see what they say.... that should put the wind up him.