6 weeks in SE Asia where to go what to do?

Z

zorro

Hi

Im a newbie but please help :) ive got about 6 weeks to spend in SE asia with about 2k euro budget for this part. looks like ill be flying into to Kuala Lumpur then getting a cheap flight to bangkok. where do you think i should go and what are the must see's do's?
I really like hiking and exploring and also i want to get in a thai cooking course if someone could recommend one...
Any suggestions for accomodation in Kuala Lumpur for about 2 days
also for bangkok for about 2 days untill i find my way around.
do i need a visa for malaysia and thailand and also maybe cambodia and laos. i want to go in about 3 weeks so i may not have time for all these visa applications.

Thanks in advance
z

The Laos visa you could (a good few years ago) get quite quickly in Bangkok in their embassy there. If you like hiking then up around Chiang Mai would be the place to go from Bangkok.