Open University Masters in Social Science

elainem

I was thinking of doing a masters in social science with the O.U. Has anybody ever studied with them before, and what is it like, both in terms of workload and the general process of distant learning and support from O.U. I would be very grateful for your comments.

Well I am currently studying Social Science with the OU. but not a masters. There is a Masters foundation course which I believe is mainly teaching how to do research, with Tutor support, which people seem to start off with.There is plenty of help available. You will be given access to first class conferencing on the OU website and your own home page where you can be in contact with the other students on your course. You will have a tutor for marking your essays. For the Rep.of Ireland, Belfast is your regional centre.I wouldn't know about the workload on the Masters but being part time it would be like any other course I suppose. I dont see OU as distance learning, as everything is here on tap and you are not isolated by any means.I have been studying part-time for 6 years and am nearly finished. (Unless I decide to do the Masters).

I am just starting the final year of the three year MA in Education course with the OU. I have found the OU excellent. I have not been able to attend any face to face conferences but have had access to tutors online. Course materials are excellent. Obviously finding the time to study and do very taxing assignments is difficult, it certainly cuts into your social life! It is hard work but then at this level it should be!
Good Luck with your studies
Carmel

I enrolled for the social science postgrad foundation course last year, with a view to completing a Masters in Cultural and Media Studies, but dropped out at Christmas.