Adamstown Co. Dublin

NALCED

Hi
I'm looking for peoples opinions / views on this development. I've read all the brochures and plan to visit sometime next week.

I'm wondering how the initial phases went and if the builders will actually follow through with the amenities that are planned ie town centre

Certainly from passing it on the train it looks like they are building the town centre at the moment.

The Property Pin website should be visited as well for opinions on this place. From what I believe, it's like a ghost town

I know someone who bought a year or so ago, and is now looking to get out of the contract and is looking to forego their deposit and walk away if possible. I believe there are issues with parking, house prices dropping, finish to houses(some people had a large column(for want of a better word) blocking their window.

Parts of it to date are built by Castlethorn and parts by Maplewood. I have no experience of Castlethorn but my house in Lucan was built by Maplewood and the finish was so poor (having said that I bought in 2000, so they could have gotten away with anything).

I do think there are certain legal documents in place that will mean the facilities will have to be finished which is good but it has to be questioned if there is need for the remainder of the houses to be finished given the current economic climate.

Also familiarize yourself with the plans from the Council, I understand there are two or three halting sites to be built within Adamstown, just so you know they are there.

My friend was speaking to some people there who love it and others not so happy.

There's no harm in visiting the place. While takeup in the initial phases seems good, the downturn has definitely hit later phases.

As regards infrastructure, you can view the council website (www.adamstown.ie) which has the details of the SDZ legislation which governs the development.