AVC via Cornmarket ~ annual fees etc.

PaddyBloggit

I had deductions taken from my salary for AVCs for more years than I care to admit to.

It was via the INTO/Cornmarket promoted scheme ..... 'twas a very hard sell and as a young teacher I fell for the hard sell ... tax efficient etc.

And sure why wouldn't I go for it .... my union was pushing it hard as well and they were looking after my welfare weren't they?

When the first spate of cuts came I stopped deductions and left the fund to work whatever magic it was or wasn't going to do.

The fund currently stands at €32k from a high of €56k approx, so it's losing value all the time.

Not only is it losing value but Cornmarket are charging me an annual maintenance fee of approx €500 to mange the fund ... a cost that that can't be sustained.

• Can I do anything about this money?
  • Can I 'release' it from Cornmarket and put it somewhere where it will have some chance of survival?

I've given up the ghost of AVCs and planning for a more comfortable retirement but having slogged to pay the contributions can I do anything to claw back what's left before it is totally annihilated?

Why don't you question your union for not negotiating a better deal for you? Surely there is power in numbers and you pay a sub to have them negotiate the best deal. I wonder if the union benefits from the deal?

How good is the Cornmarket rep?

I'm thinking of leaving the union .... a waste of money and a waste of hot air.

Re. Cornmarket ... they take the party line ... sell, sell, sell.

I see the whole investment as robbery at this stage .....

Hi
Can you get some indication from C'market as to the charging structure, this can be anywhere from 8 - 0%(unlikely to be 0%)?
That is to say what do they take of each contribution you make. What is the management charge, usually LESS that 1% per annum?