overseas will & Irish benefactors

Horatio

Hi,
I'm living & working overseas for several years & I'm currently drawing up a will with Irish executors & benefactors & it raises a few questions.

(1) I am writing a will overseas. Does this will stand under Irish Law or must I do up my will in Ireland?
(2) I work overseas, my properties are overseas, I am a tax resident overseas, where is my domicile? Is it overseas or Ireland?
(3) Where will my probate be carried out? Overseasor Ireland?

I am an Irish citizen with Permanent Resident Status overseas.

thanks for any advice.
H

Last edited:
I understand Domicile to be where you have your permanent home. If you intend to return to Ireland in due course and are simply residing overseas, you may be regarded as having an Irish domicile but it is quite a tricky one.

I assume that Probate would be extracted in the jurisdiction where the assets are. On your death, the assets can be liquidated where they are and the proceeds remitted if necessary. Or the assets could be transferred into your beneficiaries names.

I'd go for a Will where your assets are.

mf

Hi,
I'm living & working overseas for several years & I'm currently drawing up a will with Irish executors & benefactors & it raises a few questions.

(1) I am writing a will overseas. Does this will stand under Irish Law or must I do up my will in Ireland?
(2) I work overseas, my properties are overseas, I am a tax resident overseas, where is my domicile? Is it overseas or Ireland?
(3) Where will my probate be carried out? Overseasor Ireland?

I am an Irish citizen with Permanent Resident Status overseas.

thanks for any advice.
H

thanks mf1

I can't find an answer to (1) anywhere on the web - do any legal eagles have an opininion on this?
mf1 - you are correct on (2) I am in fact domiciled where I live, although my "domicilie of origin" is Ireland.
I also can't get an answer on this. If anyone can explain what probate means to me it'd be a great starting point. :eek: