Heating system for new build

Dawn Run

Apologies if this is the wrong forum

Just looking for some general advice. I'm at the design stage of a new build - a 4 bed dormer bungalow in a rural setting.
Should I go for underfloor heating or rads ? Oil, gas or geothermal ? Is solar panels worth the cost re. pay back time etc. ? What is your experience of these. Is the passive house system worth the extra initial cost outlay ?
Anyone on here built a timber framed house in the last 10 years...would you recommend it ?
Sorry for all the questions but I'm new to all this... when it comes to engineers and architects, they seem to be a 'click' who try to make the most simple of matters very complicated and therefore expensive.....to maxamise their own fee no doubt !

Don't take this the wrong way, but your first port of call is the search function above.
All these questions have been covered many times before. Read through the various threads and then you will get a lot more informative responses to specific questions.

And just to throw something else in, don't mix up heat generation method (oil, gas, electric) with heat distribution method, (rads, underfloor etc). They are apples and oranges, for example, you can have oil generated heat source, and use rads or underfloor. Similary you can have geothermal and have (specific large) rads or underfloor.

I forsee a lot of reading in your future.

Regards,
Corkboy

Apologies if this is the wrong forum

Just looking for some general advice. I'm at the design stage of a new build - a 4 bed dormer bungalow in a rural setting.
the decision is in part a personal one, but there is a requirements to provide a % of renewables with any new build. so the decision should be made in conjunction with your provisional BER assessment & architect
  1. Should I go for underfloor heating or rads ?
  2. Oil, gas or geothermal ?
  3. Is solar panels worth the cost re. pay back time etc. ?
  4. What is your experience of these.