Motor insuring a convicted driver

jimmbo

Hi all

Just stumbled across this forum while navigating the world of motor insurance. As the title implies, I am a convicted driver looking to get back on the road. I'm hoping some of you will have experience with this matter.

First, some background. I was convicted of driving without insurance in late 2009. I appealed the decision in 2010 and the court found that I was unaware I was driving while uninsured (I foolishly missed a direct debit and my insurance was cancelled without notification). I could prove all of this, and the judge cancelled my fine and ban, but held firm on my conviction. As such, I have a conviction on my record, but was officially never banned from driving.

Since the appeal, I have been insured as a named driver on my father's van without incident. I have no points on my licence, and as far as I know, I have no endorsements (citizens advice bureau website says endorsements expire after 3 years). Will this stand to me? Is it worth applying to his insurers?

So my main question is: where, or with whom, am I best off looking for car insurance?

Obviously, I am looking to do this as cheaply as possible. I will most likely buy an old 1.3 or 1.4ltr car, probably only worth a grand or so.

I also want legitimate insurance. Looking around some sites, I've found that a lot of guys just look for companies that either don't ask questions, or for companies that assume we have no convictions etc. But these guys are essentially uninsured. The reason I'm doing this is to rebuild my NCB and my reputation with the insurance companies. I don't want to get in trouble again.

If it helps, I'm a 28yo male living in Cork City (doesn't bode well for me, I know). I'm finishing college in a year, and I think now is the time to get back on the road, in case I need to drive to or for work when I graduate. Sucks that a stupid mistake I made at 22 is still following me around.

Anyway, thanks for any help you can offer!