Overqualified and underqualified

mallow

I'm a qualified solicitor and was recently let go because of the whole conveyancing falling off a cliff business... Am delighted because I hated the profession anyway. I've been applying for any office/administration job because I really don't care what I do, but am getting nowhere. How do I get past the fact that I'm not overqualified for lots of jobs, yet I'm also underqualified for anything else?

I think my problem is that employers outside the legal profession must find it hard to understand why someone would happily be paid a fraction of their previous salary for some peace of mind! Anyone in similar situation? I'd image there's plenty of us out there, and the architects and engineers must be getting hit hard too?

With your legal backgrounding, have you considered going into the area of Company Secretarial/company law.

There is still a shortage of people and lots of vacancies. Having said that, if you are bored with the whole legal area, company law is hardly exciting stuff either.

Am delighted because I hated the profession anyway. I've been applying for any office/administration job because I really don't care what I do

That's the issue for me - you don't really *like* the jobs you're applying for; you're simply applying for anything as you don't really care what you do.

In my mind that means "he'll be gone in two months when he realises what this job involves".

My advice to you is to figure out what you want to do, start a night course on that topic, and try to get a job in a company which does that sort of work.

I'm currently looking for work and have found http://www.dole.ie very useful.

Thanks for the comments. I think you hit the nail on the head Flax, I can't show why I really want any particular job if I don't have a reason other than needing money! Will have a think about that...