Key Post Should you keep an Irish property while in the UK?

ronaldo

Brendan has asked me to do a Key Post on this, so here it is. Let me first state that I’m not a tax professional – just someone who’s investigated the area extensively for my own tax returns. Feel free to PM me or add a comment if you have any suggestions for changes or notice any errors

What are my responsibilities as a UK-resident owner of Irish investment property?
  • You need to register for self-assessment with the Irish Revenue and the UK HMRC. You may already be registered with Irish Revenue if you already had rental property and I advise you to apply for the HMRC Online Self-Assessment as soon as possible because they are very strict with regards to penalties for late filing and it can take some time to get your UTR (Unique Tax Reference number) required for online filing. The fines are:
  • A flat penalty of £100 if your return is one day late - even if you have no tax to pay
  • An extra £10 per day up to a maximum of £900 for 90 days late - meaning a total penalty of £1,000 for a 90-day late return
  • An extra £300 or 5% of the tax due, whichever is the higher, if your return is 6-12 months late
  • An extra £300 or 5% of the tax due, whichever is the higher, if your return is more than 12 months late
  • …. So someone with little, or no, tax liability could face a penalty of £1,600 for filing a year late