Which insurance needed?

colin79ie

Hi,

I am a novice with insurance. Basically I was sold a whole of life policy three years ago and I think I was ripped off. Currently paying 75 a month for 300,000 cover for myself, which has critical illlness as well. It has no cash-in value.

I am thinking of changing and getting Mortgage protection (of about 126000) and then term insurance for 25 years? This is working out about 35 euro cheaper/month. Regarding critical illness, someone informed me to leave this out and get income protection insurance instead. No idea what that is.

Has anyone any advice?

Hi Colin,

Your monthly whole of life premium depend on a number of factors including your age, medical history, family history, smoker/non smoker - too many factors to advise if its expensive or not. Usually whole of life policies are calculated to average out the premium while term cover is for a specific term only which is good for e.g if you're covering a fixed no. of years such as a mortgage but if in the future you require a further life policy the premiums will automatically increase given current age etc. Mortgage protection is exactly what it says and will pay off the mortgage in the event of death.

The type of life cover someone takes out depends on the persons personal and financial commitments. E.g. If you're self employed your requirements may differ to an employee. If you have or are intending to have a family your requirements will differ to those of a single person. Therefore its hard to say if critical illness should be disregarded. Check the terms and conditions of your particular policy and decide if you require CI. Check if the same conditions are covered under your private health insurance.

it's not fair to say you were ripped off.