Moving into Accountancy: general course or ACCA?

kellyp15

Hi all,

First post here. I'm a radiation therapist looking to move into a career in Accountancy (a big switch, I know;).

Anyway, after a couple hours of research, it seems to me that the best way to go about this is to do the ACCA exams.
My question is, should I do a basic course in accounting and finance (e.g: DBS's one).

OR should I jump straight into studying for the ACCA and do a course in that (e.g: again DBS does one of these).

Any help I could get with this would be hugely appreciated! If I could just jump straight into the ACCA that would obviously be preferable to spending 4 years doing a normal course before having to do the ACCA exams anyway. But my problem is, I'm afraid that no employer is going to take me seriously (even with the ACCA qualification) without a basic grounding in accounting and finance!

Anyway, as I said, any help with this conundrum would be hugely appreciated!

Thanks!

Hi Sue,

Thanks for the reply, those were very interesting. The main question I have is: will employers look down on me if I just have the ACCA qualification and don't have any sort of business/accounting/finance undergraduate degree?

Thanks!

Hi,

I didn't study business/accountancy for my primary degree and did ACCA lectures in DBS whilst working in the private sector in accountancy roles. I qualify this by saying that I completed a graduate diploma in business after my original degree. I never had issues with not having a business/accountancy degree, although I don't actually know if not having one meant I wasn't shortlisted for job interviews at various times. My ACCA studies, qualification and actual work experience gave me good career progression.

Practice or industry.

Are you in a position to go back to collage for 2/3/4 years and then work for low pay for 2-3 more?

Why are you leaving your current profession to become an accountant.

There are many more questions than should you do a degree.