Earned more.....ended up with less

Khublei

Hello all!!

Wondering if you all can help me out here. My taxes are a mess. I'm a teacher, paying the usual PAYE. But then I tried to do the right thing and register a company to put grinds and translation work through, but that has meant no balancing statement at the end of the year until I've figured out tax returns (don't earn enough to pay for accountant).

Payslip 1:

Earned 895.26 gross

Deductions:
PAYE 88.47
PRSI 35.81
USC 48.00
Pen Related 22.22
Pension grouped 13.13
1.5% SP 13.43
Total Deductions: 221.36

Nett: 673.90

Payslip 2

Earned 863.28 gross

Deductions:
PAYE 53.67
PRSI 34.53
USC 45.77
Pen Related 19.02
Pension grouped 12.95
1.5% SP 12.95
Total Deductions: 178.89

Nett: 684.39

So my question is, how did I earn more but get less. I thought tax was done on a percentage of earnings. Never thought I would end up with less from working more. The first one is from December - January of this year. Did something change in January? The second one is the most recent.

Would appreciate any help. Or if anyone has suggested reading/websites for me I'm all ears!
Thanks

Without looking your payslips and details of you tax credits and standard rate cut off it will be difficult to give an answer.

The tax year starts on 1 Jan.

The company you registered - is that the company that,s paying you / providing you with payslips ?

Who's doing the PAYE/PRSI?

The company you registered - is that the company that,s paying you / providing you with payslips ?

Who's doing the PAYE/PRSI?

No, I'm a teacher and pay PAYE/PRSI with that.

I registered the grinds/translation but haven't done my first tax return with that yet.

Without looking your payslips and details of you tax credits and standard rate cut off it will be difficult to give an answer.

The tax year starts on 1 Jan.