Refund on jewellery

thedaras

Hi, My brother bought his girlfriend a necklace,today, for Christmas , it was to match a braclet he had bought her last year,she insisted on seeing it to make sure it was what she wanted as he had paid over 400e for it.

However ,two things happened :

One ,when she tried it on there was a part of it that was twisted and it doesn't sit right.

Two; Its not what she thought it would be..

Anyone know if it can be brought back for a refund?

I'm thinking ,if its just because she doesn't like it they wont get a refund ,and they may offer to fix the twisted part..
But either way generally can an item of jewellery be returned for a refund( excluding earrings)?
Thanks in advance

I'm not an expert, but I know about shopping :) if an item you purchase is not fit for purpose - you are entitled to a full refund. No argument,your statutory rights.(usually printed on back of shop receipt.) Definitely do not settle for repair.
Take item with receipt back to shop and get your refund. No need to mention like/dislike it is irrelevant.

Regarding exchanging jewellery, it depends on the shop, but generally an exchange is allowed in all reputable shops when an item is returned promptly (within 14 / 28 days) in its original state, with receipt packaging etc intact.

Last edited:
Here's a guide to the Sale of Goods and Supply of Services Act (1980).

But it might be best to take a lighter touch initially. The jeweller could simply offer you a replacement, i.e. an identical necklace that doesn't present the defect you identified at (1). The fact of the girlfriend not liking it is not sufficient grounds to warrant any redress, so you need to appeal to the jeweller's goodwill/sense of customer service.

I'm not an expert, but I know about shopping :) if an item you purchase is not fit for purpose - you are entitled to a full refund. No argument,your statutory rights.(usually printed on back of shop receipt.) Definitely do not settle for repair.