Personal loan to supplement savings to buy house

Dublin12

Myself any my wife had approval in principal from a number of banks in July to get a mortgage to buy a house. We have a healthy deposit (200K) built up and had no problem getting multiple offers. I work in IT and was working on a fixed term contract which was not renewed (not uncommon in the IT industry). I immediately got another position on the same salary but the banks would no longer provide a mortgage as my new position has a probationary period attached. This in effect locks us out of the market for another 7 months.

Now forced to sit on the side lines as prices continue to rise we were looking at the possibility of buying a smaller property with our cash savings but we are about 50K short of what would be needed to buy something smaller. Given we can not obtain mortgage approval for another 7 months (even for a lesser amount than originally approved for) is there any mechanism (personal loans etc) where we could borrow in the region of 50K for 6 months to bridge this gap until we can again apply for a mortgage?

I think it would be very difficult. I've never had a car loan, but maybe you could get one and then use the money as you wish? I dunno.

Even during the boom times sole traders and temps sometimes found it difficult to get mortgage approval. I think your best approach would be to ditch the temping and get a full time job.
I entered my IT career relatively late, at the age of 30. As a result of my age I swerved the whole temping thing. It does have advantages, but also disadvantages, as you're currently experiencing.
I think that if you're young and carefree then temping is probably great. But if you are settled, and intending to settle, then it's time to get a full time job. You can't have your cake and eat it.