Key Post Insurance company increasing premium on unit-linked, whole of life policies

Brendan Burgess

Founder
Thanks to mercman for suggesting a Key Post on this topic. I have no practical experience of these products, and so would welcome any corrections or comments.

Liam Ferguson has written an excellent article on his blog why you should not touch these policies with a barge pole, (even if we have to make an exception to the Askaboutmone prohibition on bad language to link to it).

Reviewable (me) Whole of Life

But, what should I do if I already have one?

What do you do if the life company writes to you and tells you that they are increasing your premium from €50 a month to €350 per month?

The first thing to do is to check whether you need the life cover or not. If you have no dependents or if you have life cover elsewhere, you may not need to life cover. Then you can cancel it and convert the policy into a savings policy.

If you do need the life cover, then get a quotation for life cover separately. You may need it for mortgage protection. But get a quotation for reducing term insurance. This is the cheapest. As the premium level will be fixed, it should work out cheaper than the insurance "bundled" with the whole of life cover.

If you have become an incrased risk through illness, then the cover with the whole of life policy may be worth keeping and paying for.

Should you cash the unit-linked policy?
This is not easy to answer. Maybe ask a financial advisor to review it for you. If you are saving anyway and the charges are reasonable, then maybe keep the policy as a savings policy.

If the charges are high, as they probably are, then cash it in.

While a Financial Advisor may give you good advice, some will automatically tell you to cash it in and take out a new policy, so that they get another lash of commissions. Only deal with a financial advisor who will work for you on a fee basis, so that they will act in your best interest, not theirs.