Local vs General Election

roker

I am not very good at politics, could someone tell me what is the difference between voting for a candidate/councillor
In the local elections and voting for a candidate in the general election?
Why must a councillor be aligned to a political party?

Ummm, am hoping this is at least a bit of sarcasm? The difference between the two is that general elections elect to the Dáil, local elections elect to the councils. There is neither a requirement or a prohibition on people being members of parties in either the Dáil or in councils. In general political alignment in most councils tends to give way to pragmatism and collegiality, particularly in the smaller councils. The ludicrous situation we have though is enough people vote in local elections based on "punishing" the incumbent government, rather than on local issues, that local election results are considered a weathervane measuring Dáil performance.

From a candidates perspective in local elections, there are advantages to being in a party. Transfer votes (2nd and 3rd preferences) tend to run along party lines. You have an existing support mechanism in place in terms of organising your campaign to get elected. You have a greater option of progression into national politics if that is what you aim to do.

Thanks, it's not sarcasm. So what decisions do local electorates do? I am assuming these are all councillors when elected. It does seem odd though that TD's do not do what the electorate people want but do as the party whip wants.
Also where do Senators fall into this?

I think this pretty much sums up politics in this country. A lot (majority) don't really know what all the politicians actually do.

I would consider myself to be relatively informed - not to the last detail but have a general understanding of what's going on and can give an opinion on the main issues affecting the country.