Walking out of job

H

hardassfunk

I walked out of my job on Thursday after an incident with someone that i've made a written complaint of bullying against,basically this occassion i've seen him do something he shouldnt have and his sister stuck her nose in saying he didnt,she was nowhere near the area! she ended up saying to me dont tell me to f*** off! I didnt say that to her and I have a supervisor witness this,i asked for an apology she just put her head down,the supervisor then asked her to apologize and she still wouldnt so I walked out.I've since handed in a SSC stating the reason for sickness as work related stress.Ive been working for the company for over 16 years.If they sack me where do I stand?

Regards -----

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi there,

I have experienced almost the same thing. If they fire you, then you have them for unfair dismissal. However, if you leave the job due to constructive dismissal, you also can have them in court for that too.

My advice to you is maybe ring up the HR in the company & request a meeting. Get your witness to join you in this meeting or ask same witness to give a written statement. I think this should be your first move anyway.

Also, seek if you are able to get sick pay from the company.

Does the company have a grievance procedure? If they do, and if you have walked out without engaging in it, then you may have a hard job convincing a court that you have been unfairly dismissed.

Walking out could be considered as gross misconduct. Or alternatively it could be considered as you have terminated the employment yourself by walking out.

From a social welfare point of view, if you have a medical cert to say that you are unfit for work, then you should be able to claim Illness Benefit.