I want a job I can leave behind me at 5.30?

MargeSimpson

After nearly 2 decades working in 'IT' I think I've had enough. Late hours, out of hours, constant up skilling - think I'm burned out.
I would love a job that I can walk away from at the end of the day and leave it behind. Don't get me wrong, I do like a challenge, but I don't think IT is for me any more.
Would this go against me if I applied for, say for example, an operator in a factory?

I work in IT and I walk away every evening from work and don't think or worry about it till I come back in the next working day. Your problem is not going to go away by changing jobs as it's not the job, it's your nature I'm afraid.

I sometimes feel the same as the OP. I also agree its your/own nature. I often times find myself thinking about how I'm going to code something the next day while at home watching TV etc.

I think moving into something like an operator in a factory would become very boring very quickly, not to mention surely paying less?

I sympathise. You need to careful plot your next career move.

I've worked in IT on companies where the norm is long hours and American customers expecting you to answer the phone and reply to queries at 7pm or much later.
I have also worked in companies where the entire IT department goes home at 5.30 apart from twice a year where there is a release.

Look to move away from your current role to a different type of role or a different industry still using your IT skills.
Do you use Agile ? If so, Could you train as a scrum master ?
Could you get a job in IT support with very regular hours ?
Would you be interested in going into training ?

Talk to an agency and see what is out there.

I work in IT and I walk away every evening from work and don't think or worry about it till I come back in the next working day. Your problem is not going to go away by changing jobs as it's not the job, it's your nature I'm afraid.