Nationwide Accountant fees

BobbyT

Hi I am a self employed carpenter and have a small Ltd. registered company with no employees. My turn over for the last 4 years has been low 20-25k max and as so the company is running at a loss. All my tax returns are up to date and the company is no longer vat registered.
Because my accounts are very straight forward my accountants fee is normally 600+vat. I have requested a price for winding up the company and he quoted me 1200+vat.
Normally in the past I would have just gone ahead and proceeded, but as money is very tight at the moment I asked my accountant if he could do better on the price as I am assuming there could not be a lot of work in winding up a very straight forward small non performing company. He declined to reduce the price, saying that he must complete a final set of books as well as the winding up process.

What my questions are;

Is the final set of books pretty much the bulk of the winding up process?

Am I being naive by saying that there would not a lot of work involved in winding up my company?

And

Is this price acceptable and does anybody feel that this could be done for better price?

In advance I really appreciate any advice (including 'just suck it up and pay for it' :),..) , so all advice is kindly welcomed

Kind regards

Bobby

The €600+VAT annual fee you have been getting from your accountant to date is amazing - I frankly don't know how he made any money on it. If the €1,200 fee includes a final set of accounts & filings plus a voluntary strikeoff, its not bad value. There has to be a small margin in it for the accountant too - otherwise there's no point in him taking the responsibility and doing the work.

I have seen directors of small turnover companies simply forget about their company obligations and after a couple of years of inactivity the CRO will strike off the company anyway, I guess cost is the issue in many cases.