Key Post Offered 'Equity' in company, need advice

NiallNoi

Hi,

I am considering leaving my current job to begin contracting (I work in IT).

My current company has said they can maybe offer me equity in the company. While this does interest me as I think they will eventually make money/be bought out, I'm quite wary as I am meeting owner in the morning to discuss, and have no idea what questions to ask to assertain what 'equity' I will actually get.

I also will then need to evaluate that and see if its worth it?

Can anyone offer me any advise on what questions to ask, and what to look out for in this discussion?

It is a small (<50 employees) limited company.

Thanks alot

Niall

Valuation of a company is a difficult thing but at a basic level if the the company was sold for €1m tomorrow and you owned 1% you could expect to get €10,000 before tax etc

€1m and you owned 10% = €100,000
€10m and you owned 1% = €100,000

The way to look at it is
(The likelyhood of the company getting sold X your return.)
So if you think there is a 20% chance the company will get sold and your return was €100,000 then the value to you is 100,000 x 0.2 = €20,000.

The problem here is while you can maybe quantify your return if you can estimate the value of the company and the proposed value of the equity, you cant really estimate the likleyhood the company will sell. You will just ever have this information and are relying on the management to be telling the truth. Most small tech companies are planing exit strategies that involve a sale and most never make it.

Most equity gets returned to a company if you leave as well so you could hang in there and leave in two years and lose your equity.

Verdict - potentially lucrative longshot akin to an accumulator at the bookies.

This is a tactic to get you to stay without paying you anything. They obviously rate you and want you to stay. By giving you shares, it doesn't cost them anything.

How profitable is the company?